Kenda Gee: Director, Producer, Writer

Kenda is a filmmaker whose family origins in Canada go back to the turn of the century. He has been the Chair of Edmonton’s Chinese Head Tax & Exclusion Act (Redress) Committee since 1998, and had the distinction of delivering the keynote address at the Going Global Conference of New Zealand’s Chinese community in Auckland, 2007. A graduate of the Documentary Production Workshop at Ryerson University through the support of the National Film Board of Canada, Kenda was also selected as a finalist of the 2005 National Producer Apprenticeship Programme by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television and for the Alberta Motion Picture Industry Association Producers Programme in its inaugural year from which he graduated among the top three. In 1998, he produced and directed a documentary short with the Edmonton Chinese Television Society, entitled, China Clipper on Larry Kwong, the first Chinese Canadian player in the National Hockey League. Kenda is a graduate of Osgoode Hall Law School, Toronto and the recipient of a United Nations Secretariat graduate internship in New York with the Offices of Political and Legal Affairs.

Tom Radford: Director, Producer, Writer

Four-time Gemini award winner, Tom Radford’s career spans forty years in the Canadian television and film industries as a writer, director and producer. Born to a Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper family that came to Alberta in 1905, Tom has carried on the tradition of portraying the distinctive character of the West and North to Canada and the world. Radford and his films have received awards from Banff to Florence, leading to the Alberta Award of Excellence. He is the author of three books, including the best-selling Alberta, A Celebration. He founded the Northwest Studio of the National Film Board of Canada in Edmonton and was a founder of the National Screen Institute. Tom recently received the University of Alberta’s Distinguished Alumni Award recognizing graduates whose outstanding achievements have earned them national and/or international prominence.

Darren Fung: Composer, Conductor

Darren Fung, B.Mus. created his first work for orchestra as part of the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra's Young Composer's project. Since that time, his works have been performed and recorded internationally by ensembles such as the Vancouver and Victoria Symphonies, I Musici de Montreal, Philharmonia Bulgarica, and Prague's FILMharmonic Orchestra. He was commissioned to re-create Canada's second national anthem, the beloved Hockey Theme for CTV and TSN, with members of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and his original music for motion picture and multimedia was featured by Bell Media during the 2010 Vancouver Olympic Winter Games. A graduate of McGill University in Montreal, Darren is also an alumnus of the ASCAP Film Scoring Workshop, the Aspen Music Festival and School, and Tapestry New Opera Works' Composer-Librettist Laboratory. He is currently the Second Vice President of the Guild of Canadian Film Composers, and represented by Maria Machado of the prestigious Gorfaine/Schwartz Agency.

Rene J. Collins: Director of Photography

Rene brings over three decades of national and international experience with numerous nominations and awards to his credit. His cinematography includes shooting in High Definition, 35mm and 16mm motion film for private broadcasters, the CBC, and film studios on documentary, drama, and commercial productions. Recent titles include, Breakout of the Masala Kid (2009) and Is the Lady of The House In (2008), which received the Alberta Film Award for Best Dramatic Short, and Swedenboug, which won the Houston Film Festival Special Jury Award in 2006. As Electronic DoP, he has worked for Warner Bros. International (Broke Back Mountain, 2003); Movie Television (Tideland, 2004); Hallmark Films (Magic); TNT (The Winning Season, 2003); Lions Gate Entertainment (Good Luck Chuck); and Paramount Pictures (Rat Race). He is a member of the Canadian Society of Cinematographers (CSC), and the International Photographers, I.A.T.S.E. Local 669. In 2008 and 2009, he was a peer mentor for APTN's HD workshop at The Banff Centre for Performing Arts in Alberta; and, in 2008, HD workshop instructor, for the First Nations Film Festival in Montreal at L'INIS (Institut National De L'Image Et Du Son).

Brenda Terning: Editor, Writer

With ten years experience as a freelance editor, Brenda's focus is process-driven documentaries and independent drama. She is a multiple AMPIA (Alberta Media Production Industries Association) Award winner for Best Editor for Tipping Point in 2011 and Inuit Odyssey in 2010. Her body of work includes the multiple Gemini Award winning My Healing Journey (1998) and Inuit Odyssey. Brenda's filmography also includes writing, directing and editing a feature length film (Blind Love, 2006) as well as various short dramas.

Additional Credits

Production Executives
Allan Kwan & Fred Locke, Executive Producers
Steve Glassman, Executive Producer for CBC TV
Kern Goretzky, Executive in Charge of Production for CTV Two

Production Heads
Wei Wong, Associate Producer
Ellen Au, Production Administrator
Emma Radford, Production Manager

Helen Wong Adhikari, English
Stephen Tsang & Mandy Luo, Chinese
Bernard Nguyen, French

Production Assistants
Derek Kwan (Canada)
Shao Xia 少侠李 Lee (China)
Nathalie Chang (New Zealand)

Transcriber (English)
Sharon Murphy

New Media Director
Ashton Wong

Community Liaisons
Games Choy
Bill Gee
John Yee
Peter Wong